Very happy because I ticked something off my bucket list 😊 It’s something very simple actually, yet socially it might take lots of courage for some who are very influenced by social norms.

I went to watch a movie at the cinema on my own.

Some people might laugh at it’s simplicity, yet to some, activities such as eating out, karaoke, watching movies etc are deemed to be scorned upon when done alone.

I myself felt shy and awkward at the thought of watching a movie alone, from the process of purchasing the ticket, walking to the theatre and presenting the ticket to the staff and searching for the seat on my own – yet I was attracted to the me-time I could have in a state of relaxation.

So I chose a non-peak hour timing to a movie I didn’t mind watching (well, a lot of movies eventually end up on Netflix that I myself don’t see much value in paying for a ticket to watch the movie at a cinema). In fact the timing was perfect as my next appointment was just a 7 minute walk away, 30 minutes from the end of the movie.

To my surprise when the movie started, I noticed that many people had came on their own. The row that I sat at had 3 of us, all of whom were alone. The row in front of me also had a solo viewer. Though I also know that such a timeslot would tend to have more solo viewers.

The movie turned out good. It didn’t look like a high budget movie and the filming was a little unsteady at times, but the storyline was captivating enough.

There was a line I particularly liked.

“It’s just, you made my life so much bigger, and I wonder if I had done the same to you.”

Said a low-spirited husband to his wife.

Somehow that brought me to tears.

And the ending.. I liked it. It was unexpected, yet when the audience knew it had ended, it was expected.

A worthy experience and kudos to myself for getting out of my comfort zone 😊

Leave a comment